BEDROOM: LIFE OF RILEY
Jack Riley was a printer in Boston and with his wife Louise had two daughters Bridget and Sally. Bridget was born in Forest Hill, South London in April 1931. Jack bought Molecey house and derelict mill in 1950, from the Fullard family who had been at the mill since 1896, when the last Molecey had left.
Jack and his family worked hard to develop and modernise their home in the spirit of the time adding a fitted kitchen, internal bathrooms and bringing in electricity. The restful calm of post war rural Lincolnshire was bucolic.The water lapped stone walls of the old house and mill created a timeless air.
Bridget painted a copy of the 1433 Jan van Eyck “Portrait of a Man” for her entry to Goldsmiths College. Moving to London in 1958 propelled her to international fame as a founder of Optical Art. He still keeps a watchful eye over the room today.